Winter Reading | Books Like Us

Winter is the perfect time to curl up with a good book and a cup of tea or hot chocolate. This winter has been more challenging than most, so you may need a blanket (or a cave), too! Whether you’re looking for something to keep the kids engaged at home or just something to lift your spirits, we suggest a good book.

Our Winter Reading Challenge, #BooksLikeUs, runs from January 1 to February 15. Books Like Us is a celebration of diversity, harnessing the transformative power of seeing oneself reflected in a book. We invite you to explore books from authors spanning an array of diverse backgrounds. We challenge you to read at least ten books and complete at least five activities during the challenge. Here’s how to participate!

How to Participate

Register your whole family at Beanstack to track your reading! You can do this on your computer or on Beanstack’s mobile app. Each family member can sign up for their reading program to start logging their progress.

Then, just start reading to earn tickets for a drawing at the end of the challenge! And the prizes are great!

How to Earn Tickets

You’ll earn one ticket for each book you read and one ticket for each activity you complete! You can even earn tickets by attending one of our virtual storytimes or author events. You can earn up to 12 tickets during the challenge.

What to Read

Don’t know where to start? You are welcome to read whatever you wish during the program, but if you need a little inspiration, we’re here to help. Visit your librarian and they’ll be glad to make some suggestions. If you can’t come into the library, just give us a call! 

This winter’s reading theme, #BooksLikeUs, not only encourages readers to see themselves reflected in books, but also to read diversely to gain empathy towards people from different backgrounds and experiences. We’ve even created extra activities to help encourage you to stretch your boundaries!

What are the activities?

Each activity badge has several different options:

Read a Book Badge

  • Read a book in your pajamas
  • Read a book with a color in the title
  • Read a book by your favorite author
  • Read a book by an author you have never read before

International Badge

  • Read a book about a different culture or ethnicity than your own
  • Read a book by an author who is from another country
  • Watch a movie set in a different country or in a foreign language

Stay Busy Badge

  • Put together a puzzle
  • Play a board game
  • Play a card game
  • Make up a new game and play it with family

Wintertime Badge

  • Read a book set in winter
  • Make a "snow sculpture" using marshmallows as the snow
  • Make a paper snowflake
  • Have an indoor "picnic" in your house

In the Kitchen Badge

  • Try a recipe from another culture
  • Find a recipe for a warm treat and make it
  • Learn a new craft/hobby

Explore an Author

What are the prizes?

You could win one of four prizes! Magna-tiles, a cozy winter basket, a $20 gift card to Books a Million, or a family book bundle! Each ticket you earn gives you an entry into the drawing. The drawing will take place on February 18, 2021.

Where to Read

Not only can you find countless physical books at the library, you can also find books to read or listen to digitally on Libby or Hoopla - all free with your library card! Download the apps and instantly get access to thousands of books and audiobooks for free on your phone, tablet, or computer from wherever you may be! Take a look at our download page to get started!

What Else is Happening?

Did you know that we have virtual programs like story times, author events, and other programs live on Facebook and Zoom? Take a look at our online calendar for the full list of virtual programs!

Additionally, our YouTube channel is full of video programs you can enjoy at any time. From job search tips to yoga, DIY crafting videos, and much more, we are working hard to bring your favorite programs into your homes.

Questions? Give us a call at 330.452.0665 or email us at hello@starklibrary.org. Stay up to date on everything that’s happening at the library on Stark Library’s social media pages!